How to Unlock All the Characters in The Binding of Isaac

All of the Binding of Isaac games have characters to unlock, each with their own special abilities. Unfortunately though, some of them are pretty tough to unlock. That’s why I’m here with this awesome guide!

The original Binding of Isaac game has 6 characters that can be unlocked, and if you buy the ‘Wrath of the Lamb’ DLC you’ll have one extra!

In the next game, ‘The binding of Isaac: Rebirth’, there are 11 characters you can play as, seven of which are in the original and the Wrath of the Lamb DLC. For Rebirth you can buy another DLC called, ‘The Binding of Isaac: Afterbirth’.


The Binding of Isaac (Original):

Isaac: Unlocked by default. Just load up the game to play as him.

Magdalene: Have 7 heart containers at the same time. Magdalene starts with the Yum Heart, which heals you by one heart.

Cain: Have 55 coins at any given time. However, this only works in one playthrough.

Judas: Defeat Mom’s Heart.

Eve: Make at least two deals with the devil in one run.

???: Defeat It Lives (a more difficult version of Mum’s Heart, unlocked after beating Mum’s Heart 9 times).


Wrath of the Lamb DLC:

Samson: Skip two treasure rooms and defeat Mum.

Tip: Try and go for Eve and Samson at the same time. 


The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth:

Isaac: Same as original.

Magdalene: Same as original.

Cain: Same as original.

Judas: Beat Satan

???: Beat Mum’s Heart 10 times.

Eve: Get past 2 floor in a row without collecting any health.

Samson: Beat 2 floors taking no damage. This is pretty hard.

Azazel: Make three deals with the devil in one run.

LazarusHave 4 soul hearts/black hearts at the same time.

Eden: Defeat Mum’s Heart (Every time you defeat Mum’s Heart you earn an Eden token which lets you play as Eden for one run).

The Lost: This character requires 4 steps to be unlocked. You must complete these steps in the order listed below. If not you’ll have to start all over again, which no one wants.

1) Isaac must die to a Mulliboom in the basement/cellar.

2) Magdalene must die to her own bomb in The caves/The Catacombs

3) Judas must die to any mum attack in The Depths/Necropolis. Being killed by any monster will spoil the entire attempt.

4) Azazel must die to any Satan attack in Sheol. Being killed by any monster will spoil the entire attempt. This includes The Fallen at the start of the Satan fight.

If you follow all these steps in that order, you’ll unlock The Lost in no time!


Afterbirth DLC:

The Lost: In Afterbirth it is much simpler to unlock The Lost. to unlock it, you just need to die in a sacrifice room holding the Missing Poster.

Lilith: Complete Greed Mode with Azazel.

Keeper: Give 1000 coins to the Greed Machine, which appears after every Ultra Greed fight.


Hopefully this guide helped you in your quest to unlock all the characters!

Oh, and if you like The Binding of Isaac, check out our review on it here!

2 thoughts on “How to Unlock All the Characters in The Binding of Isaac

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s